Thursday’s Thoughts

Thursday’s Thoughts: Are You A Dog Lover or A Cat Person… or both?

Posted on: December 6, 2008

Oliver aka Ollie aka Walrus aka Ollie-Ollie Oxen-Free

Oliver aka Ollie aka Walrus aka Ollie-Ollie Oxen-Free

 

I

Love

Oliver

(and, Tori)

(and, Claire)

(and, Tommy)

(and, Dante)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

OK… I admit.  I am a bit of an animal lover extremist.  Hence, my main blog’s name A Novel Menagerie.  I love to be surrounded by creatures.  I sing to them, talk to them, and carry on like a fool.  It’s almost like Snow White, but I’m pudgier and have a MUCH lower voice (2nd soprano, alto).  Anyway, when I lost my kitty Mako (see post on A Novel Menagerie in the review of “Dewey”), I never thought that I’d ever be that close to an animal again.  I replaced one kitty with two dogs and three cats.  But, when I’m blogging, it is always Oliver that is tickling my feet and legs under the desk.  Tori, my lab, is always asleep behind me on the carpet (usually farting and gas-ing me out of my own office).  But, Ollie just keeps loving me up and tickling me with his really long fur and whiskers.  He’s still a kitten (1 year).

He’s a GREAT cat.  He’s the most friendly cat I’ve ever had.  When I adopted him, I needed another animal like I needed a hole in my head.  But, he just kept climbing all over me and purring and carrying on when I was visiting some kittens at the vet’s office.  He PICKED ME!  So, Oliver is home and the only one who doesn’t like him is Claire the Basset Hound.  She’s always harrassing Oliver.   She doesn’t bother the other two cats because they’ll pull a Ninja Kung Foo Claw action move on her nose.. but, Oliver is just too friendly to even hurt the doggie that is chasing him.  Poor Ollie!

Anyway, it got me to thinking.  Many people are either a dog person or a cat person.  I love them equally, but for different reasons.  My dogs are my kids, but my cats are my friends.  Sounds wierd, huh?  But, I don’t know that I could say I’m one or the other.  WHAT ARE YOU?

This week’s Thursday’s Thoughts:  Provided that you are an animal lover/pet owner… are you a dog lover or a cat person… or both?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Rules & Entry:

Entries are due by Thursday, December 11th, 2008 at 5:00pm PST.

You can enter in the following ways:

  1. Leave a comment.  We’re golden!
  2. Send me an email… I’ll post it for you!
  3. WRITE A POST.  BEST OPTION… WHY?  If you post and put a picture of your pet in your post, you get a double entry.  If you post and put a picture of the Thursday’s Thoughts logo, a picture of your pet and link to this week’s meme, you get a triple entry.  If you just post… single entry.  No matter how you post, please put a link in a comment below.

WINNER:

Winner shall receive a WONDERFUL, FABULOUS, INCREDIBLE pet-themed BookCharmer bookmark from www.BookCharming.com.  You can have your choice of cat or dog!

13 Responses to "Thursday’s Thoughts: Are You A Dog Lover or A Cat Person… or both?"

haha. I have a ton of nicknames for my cats and I’m always talking and singing to them too.

I am a total cat person. I’ve had cats my entire life, and as soon as I got my own apartment in college (as opposed to a dorm) I went to the shelter and got two kitties to take home – they were brothers, how could I pick just one?
My husband says he’s a dog person, but he loves our cats like they are our children (they kind of are at this point) and we have yet to get a dog. I like dogs, but I have never owned one… I think that if I did, though, I would be both a cat and a dog person. Because really I am a huge animal lover and I enjoy ALL animals!

I’m…well…I guess since i have a dog, I should say dog lover and I do love them, but I used to have a cat and I’d loveee to get a kitten at some point.

For now though, I suppose I’ll go with dog lover. 🙂

-Lauren
lauren51990 AT aol DOT com

I used to think that I was a dog person. We had cats growing up, but they were always adopted strays or my sister’s cats that we took in as adults. They were not friendly cats, and we lived in the country, so they were outside cats.

Now we have a yellow lab whose role model is Marley (of Marley & Me). We adopted a stray kitten this year and I love it! He is snuggly and cuddles next to me while I read. So I would now say that I am a cat person.

I have always had cats in my life so I’m a cat person now. I have my own cat, Gremlin, and he is so handsom. He is big and black, he has a few nicknames, gremmy, pig nose, tom cruise and bunny are just a fe of the things I call him. I love him because he makes me laugh at least once a day and he doens;t ask very much of me…

CAT! I’ve always been a cat and then I met a dog…well lets say I’s still a cat!
Thanks so much
Darby >^..^<
darbyscloset at yahoo dot com

DOG! All my life!

shelcows AT gmail Dot com

I’ve linked to this on my blog.

I am way more of a cat person and actually have one that looks a lot like Oliver. I like dogs but I prefer cats. They can be just as sweet and lovable and rotten. I prefer larger fluffy ones though but short hairs are good too.

Actually I am a penguin person, I’ve been collecting them for 42 years! Cats almost a close second.

florida982002@yahoo dot com

I guess if I have to pick one animal, it would be dogs. But in truth I am an all around animal person. I’ve had cats, dogs, bearded dragons, fish, newts, toads, frogs, parakeets, scorpions, and a squirrel. But right now I have two dogs. Happy Holidays to you.

I know I am late getting the post up but the important thing is giving everyone a chance to love my pet right? LOL
I am a BOTH person, I could never choose one over the other. I look forward to visiting your posts and seeing your pets.
Sheri- Oliver is gorgeous, he looks a lot like a cat I owned named Dexter. Dexter was a hellion and that is my favorite kind of cat, the ornery ones 😀

i am a cat person…i don’t really do dogs…they tend to make me skiddish…

Leave a Reply

