Thursday’s Thoughts

Thursday’s Thoughts: What is Your Definition Of…?

Posted on: December 2, 2008

For this week’s Thursday’s Thoughts… there are two possible contests to enter.  First, you may head over to www.ANovelMenagerie.Com and enter the Flirting With Forty book giveaway contest.  You will receive all four of Jane Porter’s books.  

The second contest… here hosted on Thursday’s Thoughts is… What is Your Definition of “family?”

The winner of this week’s contest will receive a personalized BookCharmer (aka “the coolest bookmark ever”) from www.BookCharming.Com

You can enter in 3 ways:

1.  Write your response in the comments section below.

2.  Write the answer on your blog and post your link in the comments section below… for that, you get a double entry.

3.  Email me your answer at anovelmenagerie@aol.com.

Easy enough…

Entries are due in by no later than Thursday, December 4th at midnight PST.  US and Canada residents only for shipping. 

8 Responses to "Thursday’s Thoughts: What is Your Definition Of…?"

Hey, I like this idea! Wish I’d found you sooner, in fact. No need to enter me for anything; I’m just dropping in to say thanks for the e-mail. I’ve posted about this over at Win a Book.

My definition of family has always been broken down into two groups:

Immediate family (my parents, sisters, husband and kids)

Extended family (other blood relations and anyone else I am related to by marriage)

There are exceptions to this of course. For example, I’ve known my sister’s in-laws since I was 10, and so they are more like an aunt and uncle to me. I have some in-laws on my husband’s side who are so offensive that I would never include them in my definition of family.

So to make a long definition short, I would say that family consists of the people closest to you, who you love and choose to include in your core group of relations. Family is the people who are there for you no matter what, over the course of time.

I love your Book Charmers BTW! The one that I won from an earlier contest seems almost too pretty to use. It’s on display on my bookcase right now.

Family are those closest to your heart and they are not defined by anything other than their place. I have friends that are my family and have been forever. I have relatives who will never be family and we are all happy with that.

As a young girl I would have responded to this question with the answer of the traditional picture of two married parents and their children.

Now, (as an older, but not necessarily wiser adult) I would say that a family, whatever the makeup, is about love and care and watching out for each other.

My definition of family is those that you love and who love you back. They may not be blood relatives, but they are close to you, share your good times and bad, and spend time with you.
I think your Book Charmers are the neatest thing I’ve seen in a long time!

Family…..
to me “family” beyond the immediate and estended, is a spiritual connection, like with my church family. My church family, we all look out for each other, feel the others falls and rejoice in their wins. I guess “family” to me is an inner connection to others that share a common link.
I’d love to win one of your “bookmarks”!!! I tried to go to the other site yet I think it is having loading problems …….takes forever and once there I could not locate the contest for Jane’s books.
Thanks for your giveaway!
Darby
darbyscloset at yahoo dot com

Yeah, I am so glad you are continuing Thursday Thoughts! I posted my answer on my blog. The link is:

http://readinginappalachia.blogspot.com/2008/12/thursdays-thoughts.html

yea i think thursday’s thoughts are an awesome idea!! keep them up!

Leave a Reply

