Thursday’s Thoughts

Winner: Dreams…

Posted on: October 1, 2008

Oh Yes… We Have a Winner!

The winner of this week’s Thursday’s Thoughts is Memoryof Stella Matutina.  Her entry was really fantastic… for those who didn’t click on over, I tried to “cut n’ paste” it so you all can take a gander:
27th-Sep-2008 06:21 pm
I’m a couple of days late here, but I just couldn’t resist this one!

Tell us whether not reading has affected your dreams. Do you see the characters of the stories in your dreams? Or, is it rather a part of the story-line that integrates itself into your dreams? Do you remember your dreams? Do you dream vividly, or not that you can remember at all? What do your dreams represent to you?

Ooh boy, was this question ever tailor-made for me!

Let me begin by saying that I’m a dream addict. I love dreaming, and most of my dreams are quite vivid. I hear and smell and taste and feel, just as I do in real life. Everything is in Technicolor. And I’m often underground, thanks to some binge reading I engaged in a while back.

Which brings me to the matter at hand: does my reading affect my dreams?

Hell, yeah!

I remember the first book that ever carried over into my dreams. It was THE REBEL WITCH by Jack Lovejoy. I was seven or so. My father read me part of it at bedtime, and I was so enamored of the story that I took matters into my own hands and read it to myself. I had an absolute blast with it, and couldn’t stop thinking about the story or the characters. I thought about them so long and so hard that it’s no wonder they worked their way into my dreams!

I know I had two or three such dreams before the book was over, but I can only remember bits and pieces one of them. It was a scene directly from the book. I was in a boat with the dapper, froglike character, whose name escapes me now. We were drifting along through dark waters on our way to magic and adventure. I was over the moon. I was doing something really exciting, and I was doing it alongside the characters who’d come to mean so much to me!

I’ve had a lot of book-to-dream carryover since then. I usually read right before I go to bed, so the story is fresh in my mind as I drift under. I’ve strolled through any number of historical venues, hobnobbed with literary characters and discovered what’s coming up in future, as-of-yet unpublished books. I’ve met the Dream King and his scattered younger sister. I’ve fought dragons trapped in ice. I’ve danced in elegant ballrooms. I’ve conspired with revolutionaries. I’ve roamed through fields and forests, towns and cities. I’ve traversed the hearts of mountains.

That’s probably the strangest thing, actually. As I mentioned above, many of my dreams take place underground. About two years back, I binged on a fantasy series that was largely set – you guessed it – underground. The whole idea of underground adventures settled into my psyche in such a way that I’m still dreaming my way into the bowels of the earth, years later!

So yes, my reading has had a huge effect on my dreams. When I really enjoy something, it sticks with me. It enters my subconscious in a big way, and it often finds its way out through my dreams.

(I’ve also been known to dream episodes of television shows I like. This has sometimes resulted in some pretty strange crossovers)

General Fiction

Memory, congratulations and thanks for entering!

Please let me know what book from Amazon.Com you’d like to have shipped to your door!  Email me at anovelmenagerie@aol.com.

Leave a Reply

