Thursday’s Thoughts

Thursday’s Thoughts: Celebrating Your Family’s Best

Posted on: January 24, 2009

family-favorite-web-post

Share With Us Your Family’s Best

Who Is the Oldest Living Person In Your Family?

What Makes Him/Her So Special To You?

Edna Parker was the Great Grandmother of Kirk Curnutt, the author of Breathing Out The Ghost.  Up until recently (11/26/08), Edna was the world’s documented oldest living person and such a treasure to their family.  Kirk penned a character after her in the amazing novel Breathing Out The Ghost.

This week’s Thursday’s Thoughts is in honor of Edna Parker.  As such, the prize for the weekly MEME/Contest is a personalized, signed copy of Breathing Out The Ghost.

 

For a complete book review on this amazing novel, click here.

Now for the MEME/Contest details:

  • Entries must be received by Thursday, January 29nd by 7:00pm PST

  • Your entry must answer the question, you may not simply list your name and that you’d like to be entered (oh… sorry…) )

  • Your entry can be provided merely by adding a comment to this post – 1 entry

  • Your entry can be a comment with a link to a post on your blog – 2 entries

EXTRA ENTRIES

  • You may susbcribe to the RSS Feed for the Thursday’s Thoughts blog – 1 additional entry

  • You may subscribe to the RSS Feed for www.ANovelMenagerie.com – 2 additional entries

  • If you are posting your answer in an article in your blog, if you post either this week’s Thursday’s Thoughts photo (above and below)… or the Thursday’s Thoughts Butterfly logo with a link back to this post – 2 additional entries. 

tt-logo-butterfly

family-favorite-sidebar-sizeGOOD

LUCK!

Please return next week for a new edition of Thursday’s Thoughts!

 

For more carnival giveaways, click HERE!

31 Responses to "Thursday’s Thoughts: Celebrating Your Family’s Best"

I’ve posted this on Win A Book. No need to enter the contest.

I got mine up!

http://morbid-romantic.net/2009/01/24/thursdays-thoughts-familys-best

No need to enter me, though, since I have this book. :) I like to do the challenges and get the word out.

The oldest living relative in my family is my aunt Marcie. I remember going to her house on all of the Jewish holidays and I always looked forward to it. Though I don’t practice Judism anymore, I miss those days! Whenever I fly back to minneapolis I always go visit my aunt. She is in a nursing home and has alzhiemers, so she doesn’t know me anymore. However, the important thing is I know and love her!

I would love to win this book. I blogged about your giveaway here:

http://teddyrose.blogspot.com/2009/01/this-weeks-giveaways-galore_23.html

The oldest living person in my family is my Grandmother on my Mom’s side of the family. Why is she special to me, well besides being my Grandma, I am really her daughter….for that is what my Mom has said to me my whole life that I must be Grandmother’s daughter for I certaintly didn’t get that from her! My Grandmother is a nut and proud of it, and she and I have much in common. So if I am my Grandmother’s daughter, then whose daughter is my Mom????
Would love to win a copy of this book, I hear it is a wonderful read!
Thanks!
Darby
darbyscloset at yahoo dot com

weel we have a total of 7 people in my family so this was a no brainer it would have to be mom at 84

we are a small family… my grandfather just celebrated his 83rd birthday

The oldest living person in my family is my grandfather – he just turned 89 and still goes fishing everyday if the weather is not too cool. I practically lived with my grandparents growing up, so my grandfather is very special to me. He took me everywhere I needed to go, provided a place to live, food and clothing for me. He is a wonderful man

The oldest living family member is my grandfather although he is not that old (75). He is still as healthy as a fifty year old (touchwood) and the most soft spoken person I have ever met after my dad. Please enter me.

oops forgot to mention that I follow you thru’ google reader.
ANovelMenagerie is already on my reader.

The oldest living person in my family is my great grandmother. She is a feisty 82 years old and she just had heart surgery last Thursday. I was blessed to grow up with two great grandmothers and just lost the other one last August.

The oldest living person in my family is my grandfather (86), his mom lived to be 103, so hopefully he’ll be around for a while. He is special to me because was such a big part of my growing up. He and my grandma traveled hours to my sports events (even when I got older and into college) and he has always let me know how proud he is of me.

My aunt is the oldest in my family. She is 65 but still looks like she did when I was a kid. She is special to me because no matter what she had my back. She favored me allot when nobody else in the family paid any attention to me she did. I allways felt loved by her. Thanks for a great giveaway :)
angelacisco at rocketmail.com

I just received a copy of this book so no need to enter me but I happened to write about my grandma’s 90th birthday party. She is amazing and I love her dearly. In the last five years she lost her husband of 60 years and the next day her only son, had a mastectomy for breast cancer and had surgery for colon cancer. She is doing well and we are already planning her next party!
This is the link for my story and I added a link and photo for Thursday Thoughts.

http://wrightysreads.blogspot.com/

My grandmother is the oldest living person in my family. Shes 90 this year and is special because even though there are over 55 people on that side of my family she still knows how to find each of our unique talents and recognize each of us as special individuals! She finds time and love for everyone and did a magnificent job raising 10 children. She’s also outlived 2 of her children and 1 grandchild with strength and courage.

The oldest member of my family is my husbands grandfather. He is such a positive man. His key phrase is “Children are what make the world go round”! He loves all of his grandkids and great grandkids so much and at 91 he reminds us how great they all are. Thanks so much.

The oldest living person in my family is my mother. She is in good health, lives in her own home, drives and even mows her lawn! She is a wonderful, giving person! We hope to have her around for a long time!
mittens0831 AT aol.com

I susbcribe to the RSS Feed for the Thursday’s Thoughts blog.
mittens0831 AT aol.com

I subscribe to the RSS Feed for http://www.ANovelMenagerie.
mittens0831 AT aol.com

My oldest living relative would be my Aunt Madonna on my mom’s side – she must be about 85 by now… I can tell you her birth day – but not her birth year!

I am also following your blog

And am following A Novel Menagerie!

kherbrand at comcast dot net

The oldest living person in my family is my Great Aunt Edie who is 93.
Thanks for the giveaway!

kimspam66(at)yahoo(dot)com

The oldest person in my family or in my husband’s is himself. He is 77. His mother, who was a fantastic person, died in 2001 at the age of 93. She returned to college at age 60 to get her Masters Degree and Teaching Certificate, eventually joining the Teachers Corp and teaching in Carriacou, a Grenadine Island.
But she is deceased so I’ll write about the living instead.
As I said, my husband at 77 is the oldest in our families. He looks much younger, is very active. Has had a private pilot’s license for 56 years, flies every Sunday with another pilot to a fly-in breakfast. Has coffee every weekday with a group of pilots.
He is special to me because he tells me in words every day how much he loves me, and he does thoughtful things for me on a daily basis. He is generous to others and is always willing to share his electrical expertise and his handyman talents to help neighbors and acquaintances. I love him dearly.

Who Is the Oldest Living Person In Your Family? It would have to be my dad which is a riot as he hates being old.

What Makes Him/Her So Special To You? I’m a girl and he’s my dad. There is no relationship like a daughter and father.

The oldest living person in my family is my grandmother. She is an amazing woman of 93. She took care of her own home, drove and cooked until last year. She taught me my wonderful culinary delights and continues to have a special sense of humor and a great outlook on life.

Well, both sets of grandparents are gone, and my dad passed away earlier this year. For immediate family, my Mom is the oldest and I love her for being such a strong, practical, capable, loving woman. Otherwise, my parents both came from huge families (think 14 kids) and we didn’t grow up near any relatives, so unfortunately I don’t know any of my older aunts and uncles well at all.

I think my Uncle Bob is the oldest. He is about 90 years old. I am only 25 so he has always been kinda old. But my favorite memory of him is that every Christmas he would fill up a “bank” tube from Tootsie rolls with pennies. It was his special thing with all of his great nieces and nephews. Thanks for this contest!

my grandma (at 86) is the oldest living family member. She’s always spoken fun and freedom into my life, so it’s sad to watch her decline.
Great giveaway! Count me in.
bebemiqui82(at)yahoo(dot)com

my oldest living relative is my Aunt’s mother who is 88. she has been living with Alzheimer’s for 20 years in a home and I haven’t seen her in probably 18 years. i work at the Alzheimer society so I know what she has had to deal with though.

My dad is the oldest living relative in my family now as all grandparents have passed away. He is actually my step-dad and he’s special to me because he took on three kids and did a wonderful job fathering us. Last week, he was diagnosed with a rare cancer so he’s even more special to me now. It’s hard watching him be so sick.

The oldest living person in my family is my grandma. She has such wonderful stories and is a very caring person. She used to live on a farm and I have very fond memories of spending a week there every summer.

Oldest person in my family is 80, going strong!

My grandmother is the oldest living relative of mine….she is 97 and such a beautiful woman! She is an inspiration to us all!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

